2005 Winners



Marion Jayne Perpetual Trophy

Marv Guthrie and Esther Grupenhagen F33A Bonanza

The Marion Jayne Perpetual Trophy was awarded in recognition of the team whose skills resembled the depth and breadth of flying talent personified by Marion herself. Marv and Esther demonstrated their navigational skills in the Carolinas 300 Air Race and in the Marion Jayne Air Race. With the combined results of these two events, Marv and Esther received the Perpetual Trophy.



Marion Jayne Air Race

1st Place	Arthur Mott	Baron 58
	John Dawson	
2nd Place	Marv Guthrie	F33A Bonanza
	Esther Grupenhage	en
3rd Place	Bobby Bennett	Cessna 172
	Annelise Bennett	
4th Place	Larry Morris	Baron 58
	Dan Spangnoli	
5th Place	Shelby Bowles	Skymaster
	Jim Reed	•

Planned Route: Mesquite, TX; Miami, OK; Tunica, MS; Pascagoula, MS; Gadsden, AL; Waycross, GA; Monroe, NC. Hurricane altered actual route: registration at Glasgow, KY; Monroe, NC; Anderson, SC; Waycross, GA; Monroe, NC; Myrtle Beach, SC; Jacksonville, NC; Lumberton, NC; Monroe, NC.

Carolinas 300



1st Place Marv Guthrie F33A Bonanza Esther Grupenhagen

2nd Place Stu Morse Tiger

Jim Clarry

3rd Place Shelby Bowles Skymaster

Jim Reed

Route: Monroe, NC; Cheraw, SC; Wallace, NC; Monroe, NC

Best Team Flying a Piper



Dennis and Jeanette Hackler

Best Team Flying a Cessna



Shelby Bowles and Jim Reed

Best Team Flying a Beech



Marv Guthrie and Esther Grupenhagen

Two Learn to Fly Scholarships were awarded

Marion Jayne Encouragement Award recipients were Larry Morris and Dan Spagnoli